Medical Education Day

2023 Event Details

Holly J. Humphrey, MD, MACP

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Holly Humphrey

Holly J. Humphrey, MD, MACP, became the eighth president of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation in July 2018. Previously, she served for 15 years as the Ralph W. Gerard Professor in Medicine and Dean for Medical Education at The University of Chicago. Dr. Humphrey earned her MD degree with honors from The University of Chicago and as a member of Alpha Omega Alpha honor society. Following an internal medicine residency, pulmonary and critical care fellowship, and Chief Residency, all in the department of medicine at The University of Chicago, she served for 14 years as Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, which provided the foundation for her medical education career. Her signature programs in medical education have focused on diversity and inclusion, mentoring, and professional identity formation. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, a Master of the American College of Physicians, and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London). Crain’s Chicago Business featured her as one of their “Women to Watch,” and Modern Healthcare celebrated her as their Excellence in Governance honoree for work as an outstanding healthcare board member. The NorthShore University HealthSystem created the Holly J. Humphrey Medical Education Fund with a one-million-dollar gift to The University of Chicago. Her teaching honors include selection as a favorite faculty teacher by graduating University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine students more than 25 times.



8:30am – 9:00am                      REGISTRATION and REFRESHMENTS 

9:00am – 10:30am                    PLENARY SESSION 

Presentation of Dean’s Teaching Awards and Dean’s Award for Excellence in Medical Student Research Mentorship Robert Golden, MD – Dean, UW School of Medicine and Public Health 

Keynote AddressWhy Didn’t I Get Honors on This Rotation?’: Equity and Transparency in Medical Education Assessment” Holly J. Humphrey, MD, MACP –  President, Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation

10:30am – 10:45am                    BREAK & TRANSITION 

10:45am – 11:45am                     SMALL GROUP WORKSHOPS

Cultivating New Connections to Champion Creativity and Catalyze Interprofessional and Interdisciplinary Curriculum Development: Discover, Dream, and Design Beth Altschafl, PhD; Kathy Stewart, MD; and Elizabeth Petty, MD

Improving Teamwork and Communication Among Healthcare Professionals Amy Zelenski, PhD; and Sarah Floden, MD

The New Era of ERAS – Changes to the Residency Application for 2024 Sara Brask, MS; and Mary Westergaard, MD

‘One Thousand Words’: How to use Interactive Image-Based Content for Medical Education Edward Lawrence, MD; Matthew Lee, MD; Tabassum Kennedy, MD; and Michael Hartung, MD

Pass the Pearls: Sharing Ideas to Improve your Clinical Teaching Jonathan Fliegel, MD

The Smart CBL – a Virtual Platform to Improve Student Engagement, Clinical Reasoning, and Real-Time Assessment Vinaya Bhatia MD; and Courtney Morgan, MD

 11:45am – 12:30pm                   POSTER SESSION 

 12:30pm – 1:15pm                     LUNCH and NETWORKING ACTIVITIES

1:30pm – 2:30pm                       SMALL GROUP WORKSHOPS 

Befriending Uncertainty: Narrative Medicine as a Tool for Developing Comfort with the Unknown Elizabeth Fleming, MD; and Magnolia Larson, DO

Best Practices for Hybrid Teaching Theresa Pesavento, PhD; and Amy Stickford Becker, MA

Development of the UW-Madison Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education Healthy Aging Initiative (UW CIPE-HAI) to Create Interprofessional Education Experiences Sue Wenker, PT, PhD, MS, FNAP; Hossein Khalili, BScN, MScN, PhD, FNAP; Kathleen O. Smith, BA; and Kaitlyn Hawley, BS

Medical Education Research and Program Evaluation: How to Get Started Amy Zelenski, PhD; and Jessica Tischendorf, MD, MS

When’s the Last Time You had a Challenging Situation as an Educator/Teacher? Using a Difficult Educational Case format for Professional/Faculty Development Deborah Simpson, PhD; Kjersti Knox, MD; Theresa Frederick, BA; and Anne Getzin, MD