Key Health Professions and Basic Science Program Contacts

Academic Affairs serves a wide variety of programs, units and centers. Select the tab headings below to see the key contacts in each program. The Basic Sciences tab lists program contacts for SMPH-affiliated MS and PhD programs, which are under the purview of  the Graduate School with coordination from the SMPH Office of Basic Research, Biotechnology and Graduate Studies.

Admissions
medadmissions@med.wisc.edu
(608) 263-4925

Student Services
Brianne Coffey
Administrative support
(608) 263-4920
bcoffey3@wisc.edu

Medical Education
Roxane Olsen
Executive Assistant
(608) 265-3859
rrolsen@wisc.edu

Mindy Schreiner
MPH Students services coordinator
(608) 263-2298
schreiner3@wisc.edu

Chelsea Hanewall
Administrator
(608) 262-0736
chanewall@wisc.edu

Sacha Ehley
Medical education coordinator lead
Aurora University of Wisconsin Medical Group
(414) 219-5747
sacha.ehley@aurora.org

Lisa Steinkamp, PT, PhD, MBA
Director, Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
School of Medicine and Public Health
5175 Medical Sciences Center
1300 University Ave.
Madison, WI 53706
Ph: (608) 263-9427
Cell: (608) 213-4524, Fax: (608) 262-7809
steinkamp@pt.wisc.edu

Sue Arneson
Program Assistant
skarneson@pt.wisc.edu

Catherine A. Reiser
Program director
(608) 262-9772
reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu

Laura Elizabeth Birkeland
Clinical genetic counselor
(608) 263-4917
lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu

Sue Kaletka, MPH
Program administrator
(608) 263-5825
sakaletka@wisc.edu

Barbara Duerst
Associate program director
(608) 263-4215
barbara.duerst@wisc.edu

SMPH Office of the Dean contacts: 

James Keck, PhD
Associate Dean for Basic Research Training
(608) 265-0523
jlkeck@wisc.edu

Andrea Poehling
Policy and Planning Analyst
(608) 262-2628
andrea.poehling@wisc.edu

 

MS and PhD Degree Program Contacts:

Applied Biotechnology (MS)

Directors:

James Keck, PhD
Associate Dean for Basic Research Training
(608) 265-0523
jlkeck@wisc.edu

Natalie Betz, PhD
(608) 274-4330
nabetz@wisc.edu

Director/Manager:

Bryan Husk, MA
Assistant Director (contact for admissions)
(608) 265-0773
bthusk@wisc.edu

Michele Smith, MS
Program Manager (contact for general questions)
(608) 262-9753
msmith27@wisc.edu

Biomedical Data Science (MS, PhD)

Directors:

Sushmita Roy, PhD (director – PhD program)
(608) 316-4453
sroy8@wisc.edu

Mark Craven, PhD (director – MS)
(608) 265-6181
craven@biostat.wisc.edu

Program Coordinators:

Beth Bierman
(608) 265-8649
bbierman@wisc.edu

Shelley Maxted
(608) 262-9184
maxted@wisc.edu

Biotechnology (MS)

Directors:

James Keck, PhD and Natalie Betz, PhD (see contact information above)

Kurt Zimmerman, MS
(608) 262-0685
kjzimmerman@wisc.edu

Program Coordinators:

Bryan Husk, Michele Smith (see contact information above)

Cancer Biology (PhD)

Directors:

Elaine Alarid, PhD
(608) 265-9319
alarid@oncology.wisc.edu

Dan Loeb, PhD
(608) 262-1260
loeb@oncology.wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Jenny Schroeder
608-262-4682
jmschroeder2@wisc.edu

Cellular & Molecular Pathology (PhD)

Director: 

Zsuzsa Fabry, PhD
(608) 265-8716
zfabry@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Joanne Thornton
(608) 262-2665
jmthornt@wisc.edu 

Clinical and Health Informatics (MS)

Director:

Elizabeth Burnside, MD, MPH
(608) 262-7919
eburnside@wisc.edu

Coordinators: 

Jack Champeau (administrative director)
(608) 224-6231
jdchampeau@wisc.edu

Rachel Sauer (graduate coordinator)
(608) 263-4109
rachel.sauer@wisc.edu

Clinical Investigation (MS, PhD)

Director:

Randy Kimple, MD, PhD
(608) 263-3611
rkimple@humonc.wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Sally Wedde
(608) 262-3768
sewedde@wisc.edu

Endocrinology – Reproductive Physiology (MS, PhD)

Director:

Ian Bird, PhD
(608) 417-6314
imbird@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Grace Jensen
(608) 265-5838
gjensen2@wisc.edu

Epidemiology (MS, PhD)

Director:

Corinne Engelman, MSPH, PhD
(608) 265-5491
cengelman@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Quinn Fullenkamp
(608) 265-8108
qhfullen@wisc.edu

Medical Physics (MS, PhD)

Director:

Tim Hall, PhD
(608) 265-9459
tjhall@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Carol Aspinwall
(608) 265-6504
carol.aspinwall@wisc.edu

Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology (PhD)

Director: 

Anjon Audhya, PhD
(608) 262-3761
audhya@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Kristin Cooper
(608) 262-9826
kgcooper@wisc.edu

Molecular and Environmental Toxicology (MS, PhD)

Director:

Chad Vezina, PhD
(608) 890-3235
cmvezina@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Mark Marohl
(608) 263-4580
mdmarohl@wisc.edu

Neuroscience (PhD); Neuroscience and Public Policy dual degrees (MPA/PhD, MIPA/PhD, JD/PhD)

Director:

Mary Halloran, PhD
(608) 263-7875
mchalloran@facstaff.wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Sharon Kahn
(608) 262-4932
smkahn@wisc.edu

Population Health – named option in Epidemiology (MS, PhD)

Director:

Corinne Engelman, MSPH, PhD
(608) 265-5491
cengelman@wisc.edu

Coordinator:

Quinn Fullenkamp
(608) 265-8108
qhfullen@wisc.edu

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences graduate programs affiliated with SMPH:

Biochemistry (PhD): Director, Ivan Rayment, PhD; Coordinators, Maria Katsoulidis (prospective students) and Kate Ryan (current students)

Genetics (PhD): Director, Audrey Gasch, PhD; Coordinator, Errol Wizda

Microbiology (PhD): Director, JD Sauer, PhD; Coordinator, Terra Theim

Cellular and Molecular Biology (PhD): Director, David Wassarman, Coordinators: cmb@bocklabs.wisc.edu